Angola: Parliaments of Angola and Sao Tome discuss legal cooperation

Luanda — Legal cooperation (legislative production) dominated Monday’s dialogue between the National Assemblies of Angola and São Tomé and Príncipe held in Luanda.

The First Vice President of the National Assembly, Emília Carlota Dias, led the Angolan delegation, while the São Tomé delegation was led by her counterpart Guilherme Octávio dos Ramos.

In statements to the press, Carlota Dias and Guilherme dos Ramos confirmed the need to strengthen cooperation in the field of law-making between the two parliaments.

They considered it essential that the two parliaments exchange their experiences on the functioning of their respective legislative bodies, as well as in the field of parliamentary administration.

Carlota Dias also considered it essential to encourage the Heads of State for the dynamism, more and more, of the cooperation between the two countries.

In turn, Guilherme Octávio dos Ramos suggested the exchange of experiences on parliamentary representation itself and its respective working committees.

He is of the opinion that as it is a direct popular emanation, it is necessary to make a local legislature, representing the voters.

The deputies are part of the entourage of the President of the Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe, Carlos Manuel Vila Nova, who since Sunday has been on a state visit to Angola.

Angola and São Tomé and Príncipe formalized cooperation in February 1978, through the General Friendship and Cooperation Agreement, and the institutionalization of the Joint Bilateral Commission, created in January 1980.

The sixth and last session of this body took place in Luanda, in November 2007.

In 1995, they signed the Reciprocal Investment Protection Agreement, with a view to creating favorable conditions to stimulate private initiatives and intensify bilateral economic cooperation.

In 2019, areas were identified for a new cooperation strategy, with a focus on tourism, transport and offshore hydrocarbon exploration.

Angola and São Tomé and Príncipe, which maintain political and diplomatic relations, among others, are members of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (CPLP) and the Gulf of Guinea Commission (CGG).

São Tomé and Príncipe, an African island country located near the equator, is part of a volcanic chair with impressive rocks and corals, as well as tropical forests and beaches.

Comments are closed.