Bafana Bafana team: Khune, Zungu and Grobler return for Afcon qualifiers against Sao Tome and Principe


South Africa national team coach Molefi Ntseki brought back Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune, Bongani Zungu and striker Bradley Grobler for back-to-back Africa Cup qualifying matches. Nations (Afcon) of November against Sao Tome and Principe.

The Bafana are expected to welcome the islanders to the FNB Stadium on November 13, before heading to Sao Tome for the return match three days later.

Khune is making headlines among returnees in Ntseki’s 25-player squad as the goalkeeper was last featured in the national team in November 2018 in an Afcon 2019 qualifier against Nigeria.

The Chiefs skipper was called up for the same matches against Sao Tome in March this year before matches were postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

But after being excluded from last month’s international friendlies against Namibia and Zambia, Khune did not appear to be part of Ntseki’s plans.

Rangers midfielder Zungu is also back after being overlooked by Ntseki in Bafana’s last games, with the player publicly expressing his frustration at being ignored.

SuperSport United striker Bradley Grobler, who was left out for the Namibia and Zambia friendlies, also won over Ntseki with a brace in the opening weekend of the Premier Soccer League season.

Dean Furman, now part of English League 2 side Carlisle United, is also back, along with US-based Kamohelo Mokotjo.

Mamelodi Sundowns utility player Lyle Lakay has also been included.

Ntseki remained confident in the majority of the players he used in the 1-1 draw against Namibia and the 2-1 loss to Zambia.

South Africa is second in Group C and wishes to dislodge Ghana from the summit in the candidacy of the next edition of Afcon which will be organized by Cameroon.

Sudan is third in this group while Sao Tome is the anchor of the standings.

Squad of Bafana Bafana

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (Oud-Haverlee Leuven) Defenders: Thibang Phete (OS Belenenses SAD (Portugal), Motjeka Madisha, Lyle Lakay (both Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Orlando Pirates)), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Abubaker Mobara (Cape Town), Reeve Frosler (Kaizer Chiefs), Rushine De Reuck (Maritzburg United)

Midfielders: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France), Percy Tau (RSC Anderlecht, Belgium), Luther Singh (Braga FC, Portugal), Thulani Serero ( Al Jazira, United Arab Emirates), Bongani Zungu (Rangers FC, Scotland), Lebogang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs), Kamohelo Mokotjo (FC Cincinnati, United States), Dean Furman (Carlisle United, England)

Attackers: Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Kermit Erasmus (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.