CDC Warns Americans to Avoid Country Due to COVID-19

Trips to the Great White North might have to wait; Federal officials in the United States are warning travelers to avoid Canada due to its “very high” level of COVID-19.

On Monday, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention upgraded Canada from its Level 3 Travel Health Advisory to Level 4, the highest alert level. Canada now joins 80 other countries, including France, Italy and the UK on the CDC’s list of countries to avoid.

“If you have to travel to Canada, make sure you are fully immunized before you travel,” the CDC warns on its website. “Due to the current situation in Canada, even fully vaccinated travelers may be at risk of contracting and spreading variants of COVID-19. “

The State Department, which issues its own travel advisories, also issued a warning: “Do not travel to Canada due to COVID-19. “

► Canadian airlines refuse passengers:Airlines Won’t Fly Maskless, Partying Influencers After Trudeau Calls Them “Fools”

► Hawaii updates entry requirements:Island drops questionnaire, shortens quarantine period

The CDC examines incidence rates and new case trajectories to determine each country’s level of risk. Level 4 countries have reported more than 500 new cases per 100,000 population in the past 28 days.

Coronavirus cases reported in Canada have risen sharply over the past month. There are more than 404,000 active cases of COVID-19 in Canada, according to government data, with more than 34,000 reported on Tuesday.

The new directive comes five months after Canada reopened its land borders to vaccinated American travelers in early August. The United States reopened its land borders to Canadian tourists in November.

Before the pandemic, more than 14 million American tourists visited Canada each year.

► Which EU countries are open to tourists:A breakdown of EU travel restrictions by country

A number of other countries have also adopted the CDC’s travel health advisory:

  • Curacao has gone from level 3 to level 4.
  • Singapore has moved from level unknown to level 3.
  • Rwanda and the United Arab Emirates have moved from level 1 to level 3.
  • Bahrain, Cape Verde, Ethiopia and Zambia have moved from level 2 to level 3.
  • The Democratic Republic of Congo, Fiji, Kuwait, Liberia, Togo and São Tomé and Príncipe have moved from level 1 to level 2.
  • Armenia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Belarus have moved from level 4 to level 3.
  • El Salvador has moved from level 3 to level 2.

Follow USA TODAY reporter Bailey Schulz on Twitter: @bailey_schulz.

Comments are closed.