Green List Update: 11 Countries That Could Go Green – List Will Be Expanded “Very Soon” | Travel News | Trip


The green list was revealed on May 17 when international travel was allowed to resume, but to the dismay of aspiring travelers, only 12 destinations were added. Green countries are those considered safe for leisure travel and do not require passengers to be quarantined upon their return to the UK. Traveling to the orange and red countries is still allowed but discouraged, and depending on the destination you venture to, you will need to quarantine yourself either at an approved hotel or at home when you return to the country. Those hoping for a safe vacation are no doubt eagerly awaiting their next trip update to see where they can go.

This week, Mr Shapps urged vacationers keen to travel within the European Union to be patient.

Mr Shapps said: “I don’t think people have to wait very long before other countries can join the green list.”

The transport secretary added that France’s vaccination rate was six to eight weeks behind the UK, which means it could be considered safe for travel soon.

He urged travelers to the UK to be “a little patient” and wait for more countries to be added before venturing out of the country for leisure purposes.

READ MORE: Holidays in Greece: New beach restrictions for tourists

The expected update comes as UK travelers may face tighter restrictions when traveling to France following numerous reported cases of the Indian variant circulating in the UK.

According to the French Foreign Minister Jean-Yves Le Drian, the United Kingdom will not be nicknamed a country on the red list but could face “slightly more severe health measures”, perhaps having a category of its own according to Schengen Visa Info.

Mr Le Drian said: “The arrival of the Indian variant is a problem, and we remain on the alert on this in cooperation with the UK authorities.

Currently, Britons traveling to France must provide a negative PCR test taken 72 hours before arrival, complete a health declaration form requiring them to self-isolate for seven days, and then perform another PCR test.

The European Parliament is expected to allow European citizens to travel within the 27-nation bloc using Covid certificates from June 16, but since the UK left in December 2020, it cannot take advantage of the arrangement.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.