How to watch South Africa v Wales first Test: UK kick-off time

Wayne Pivac will lead his side in a three-game Test series against world champions South Africa, with the first game taking place this weekend.

SA Rugby chief executive Jurie Roux spoke to Sky Sports to say: “It is exciting to announce such a strong list of Springbok fixtures this season following a successful 2021 season for the team.

Register to our World of Sport newsletter

“While awaiting the return of crowds to our testing and with the Covid-19 pandemic still presenting challenges across the globe, we understand the fluid nature of match schedules.

“But it’s important to us that the team face quality opposition as we prepare for Rugby World Cup 2023 in France.”

Wales made eight changes to their starting line-up from the side that lost 22-21 to Italy on the final day of the Six Nations, giving Italy their first Six Nations victory since 2015.

The two teams have met on 37 occasions and South Africa have won 30 of those matches, with Wales claiming just six wins. Twenty-two of the clashes took place in Wales.

It is the first time in eight years that Wales and South Africa have met in a Test series, with the last series being in 2014 and South Africa winning 2-0.

While Wales have won their last four meetings with the Sprinboks, they have lost all 10 games they have played in South Africa.

When is the first South Africa-Wales test match?

The first test is scheduled to take place on Saturday July 2, 2022 at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria. The stadium is already full before the arrival of the Welsh in the arena of rugby and football.

The second Test will be played at Toyata Stadium, Bloemfontain. It is scheduled to be played on Saturday July 9, 2022

Wales v South Africa in Cardiff, 2021

The Free State Stadium was originally built for the 1995 Rugby World Cup and was one of the venues for the FIFA World Cup.

The third and final test will take place on Saturday July 16, 2022 and will be played at the DHL Stadium in Cape Town.

What are the UK kick-off times for South Africa v Wales?

All three matches are scheduled to kick off at 4.05pm BST.

South Africa is only two hours ahead of the UK and uses South African Standard Time.

How to watch South Africa v Wales in the UK

All South Africa v Wales Test Series matches will be available on Sky Sports.

Coverage of all matches will begin at 3.30pm BST.

Subscriptions to Sky Sports start at £46/month but it’s also possible to buy a NowTV day pass for £11.99 in order to watch the games.

Sky subscribers can also follow the action via Sky’s SkyGo app.

Who are in the platoons?

South Africa: 15 Damian Willems, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 1 Ox Nche, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 3 Frans Malherbe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Lood de Jager , 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 7 Franco Mostert, 8 Jasper Wiese

Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitschoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Elrigh Louw, 21 Kwagga Smith, 22 Herschel Jantjies. 23 Red Willie

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 George North, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Josh Biggar (c), 9 Kieran Hardy, 1 Gareth Thomas, 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Dillon Lewis, 4 Adam Beard, 5 Will Rowlands, 6 Dan Lydiate, 7 Tommy Refell, 8 Taulupe Faletau

Subs: Dewi Lake, Rhys Carre, Tomas Francis, Alun Wyn Jones, Josh Navidi, Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe, Owen Watcombe

Comments are closed.