Malta adds 19 countries to non-quarantine travel list


Nineteen countries have been added to Malta’s travel red list.

The new rules will take effect Thursday, after the publication of a legal notice on Monday.

Travelers from countries on the Red List do not need to self-quarantine if they have a recognized vaccination certificate.

According to the legal notices, travelers arriving from Bahrain, Gabon, Kuwait, Maldives, Bermuda, Rwanda, Russia, Mongolia, Cape Verde, Namibia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Myanmar, Malaysia, Tunisia, Morocco, Iraq, South Africa, Timor and India will not be forced to quarantine.

Malta currently recognizes vaccination certificates from the European Union, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates, United States, Serbia, Qatar, Albania, Australia, Lebanon, ‘Egypt, Jersey, Gibraltar, Canada, Turkey and Guernsey.

Last week, Health Minister Chris Fearne announced that fully vaccinated Maltese residents traveling from dark red areas can now quarantine themselves at home as long as they have a vaccination certificate and members of their household are vaccinated.

The move came amid increasing pressure from various quarters over strict quarantine protocols for travelers, including Maltese residents, arriving from dark red zone countries.

READ ALSO: Vaccinated residents of Malta traveling from dark red areas can now self-quarantine at home

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.