Nigeria invite Osimhen, Chukwueze and 25 others for Sierra Leone vs Sao Tome battle

Head coach Jose Peseiro has called forwards Victor Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze, captain Ahmed Musa, assistant captain William Ekong and 23 other players into the Super Eagles camp.

That’s ahead of this month’s 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Sierra Leone and São Tomé and Príncipe.

Nigeria will host Sierra Leone at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in one of the campaign day one matches on Thursday.

The Super Eagles will then leave the country for Marrakech, Morocco, to play São Tomé and Príncipe on June 13.

A statement from Ademola Olajire, director of communications for the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF), said on Saturday that coach Peseiro had also invited goalkeepers Francis Uzoho and Adewale Adeyinka, defenders Olaoluwa Aina, Calvin Bassey, Sani Faisal, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi and Chidozie Awaziem,

“Among the Portuguese tactician’s other guests are midfielders Joseph Ayodele-Aribo, Alex Iwobi and Innocent Bonke.

“Also included in the list are strikers Moses Simon, Terem Moffi, Cyriel Dessers and Emmanuel Dennis – all of whom were part of the squad that faced Mexico and Ecuador in high-profile friendlies in the United States.

Peseiro added Israel-based goalkeeper Adebayo Adeleye, defenders Abdullahi Shehu, Zaidu Sanusi, Leon Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo, midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Frank Onyeka, and strikers Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze, Ademola Lookman and Sadiq Umar. “, indicates the press release.


Guardians: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Adewale Adeyinka (Akwa United); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Sani Faisal (Katsina United); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Innocent Bonke (FC Lorient, France); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Victor Osimhen (SSC Naples, Italy); Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord FC, Netherlands); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France).

Comments are closed.