Super Eagles to host Leone Stars in AFCON 2023 qualifier, await CAF decision on São Tomé/Mauritius – Arise News

Following Tuesday night’s draw for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying series, three-time defending champions Nigeria must await the decision of the CAF Disciplinary Board on which of São Tomé & Príncipe and Maurice would be the fourth team in their Group A series.

The Super Eagles already have a home game scheduled for the first week of June against Sierra Leone’s Leone Stars, who were also part of their qualifying group for the last AFCON tournament in Cameroon. Nigeria and Sierra Leone climbed out of this pool, leaving Benin Republic’s squirrels and Lesotho’s crocodiles biting their fingers.

This time, the Eagles must negotiate a Group A which includes the Leone Stars as well as the Wild Dogs of Guinea-Bissau, which the Eagles beat 2-0 in the group stage of the last final in Cameroon, thanks to goals from Sadiq Umar. and William Ekong. learned from CAF headquarters on Wednesday that Mauritius had an ongoing protest against São Tomé and Príncipe, who won their preliminary qualifying match, insisting that a São Tomé player had tested positive for covid. -19. São Tomé & Príncipe continues to dispute this claim.

“The case has become a bit more interesting because the player at the center of the controversy is the one who scored the only goal of the game,” our source said.

This means that after hosting Sierra Leone in Nigeria, the Super Eagles are expected to fly to Sao Tome or Port Louis for their matchday two encounter. The window for these two matches is from May 30 to June 14.

In September, with the matchday 3 and 4 window being September 19-27, the Eagles will dance home and away with the Guinea-Bissau Wild Dogs. Matchdays 5 and 6 take place from March 20-28, 2023 and will see the Eagles depart to Freetwon before returning home to face São Tomé and Príncipe or Mauritius.

The two top-ranked teams in each of the twelve groups at the end of the qualifying campaign will qualify for the 34th Africa Cup of Nations final to be held in Ivory Coast next summer. However, hosts Ivory Coast have definitely qualified for Group H, meaning only one of Zambia, Comoros and Lesotho will qualify for the final, regardless of how the Ivorians perform. in the race.


Group A: Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, São Tomé and Príncipe/Mauritius

Group B: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Togo, e-Swatini

Group C: Cameroon, Kenya, Namibia, Burundi

Group D: Egypt, Guinea, Malawi, Ethiopia

Group E: Ghana, Madagascar, Angola, Central African Republic

Group F: Algeria, Uganda, Republic of Niger, Tanzania

Group G: Mali, Republic of Congo, Gambia, South Sudan

Group H: Ivory Coast, Zambia, Comoros, Lesotho

Group I: DR Congo, Gabon, Mauritania, Sudan

Group J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Botswana

Group K: Morocco, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Liberia

Group L: Senegal, Republic of Benin, Mozambique, Rwanda

Comments are closed.