Travel alert – RKI updates the list of areas at risk for coronavirus


For almost a year, the Federal Foreign Office has issued a general travel warning for many parts of Europe due to the coronavirus pandemic. As of July 1, it is only effective at incidences of 200 and in areas where dangerous viral variants have spread widely. He is only “disappointed” with unnecessary tourist trips to so-called low-risk areas. Countries and territories that affect seven days of more than 50 per 100,000 population are classified as risk areas.

The Robert Koch Institute currently classifies European countries and territories as follows:


Netherlands: The overseas territory of Sint Maarten is a risk area. Belgium and Luxembourg are not currently risk areas.

France and Andorra

France is no longer considered a risk zone. The overseas regions of Réunion, Guyana and Saint-Martin are classified as low-risk areas.

Austria and Hungary

The two countries are no longer risk areas.


Switzerland is not currently a risk zone either.

Great Britain and Ireland

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which includes the Isle of Man, all of the Channel Islands and the British Overseas Territory, have been identified as regions of variants of the virus of May early July. This was justified by the presence of Delta Virus version B.1.617.2 in the UK. Recently, however, the areas have been downgraded to high incidence areas. In Ireland, the border areas, Dublin and the Middle East are considered easy risk areas.


Spain, including the Balearics and the Canaries, is valid from July 11. Like a simple risk zone.


Until early July, Portugal, including the autonomous regions of Madeira and the Azores, was considered a separate viral zone. The country has since been demoted to an area of ​​strong influence.


Italy is no longer a risk zone.


Malta is no longer considered a risk area.

Czech Republic and Slovakia

The Czech Republic and Slovakia are no longer considered as risk areas.

Slovenia, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia

In Croatia, only Zadar County is a moderate risk area.

Turkey and Greece

Turkey is still considered an easy risk area. Cyprus is now considered a high impact area.

Finland, Sweden, Norway,

The provinces of Norrbotten and Vrmland are classified as low risk areas in Sweden. In Norway, the provinces of Agder and Rogaland are considered vulnerable areas.

Romania, Moldova and Bulgaria

These countries are not currently risk areas.

Poland and Baltic States

Poland and the Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are currently not risk areas.


Cyprus is now considered a high impact area.

Risk areas and travel warnings

The list of risk areas is published by the Robert Koch Institute in consultation with the Federal Ministry of Health, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Federal Ministry of the Interior. According to the RKI, a two-step assessment applies: First, it determines which states or territories have recorded more than 50 newly infected people per 100,000 population in the past seven days.

For areas where this limit is not observed, the RKI uses information from the Federal Foreign Office to assess whether there is still an increased risk of infection. Among other things, the testing capabilities and tests performed, the type of virus, containment measures and the reliability of information for certain countries play a role.

virus variant region

In addition to particularly high case areas and other factors that increase the risk of infection at the site, the RKI also classifies areas in which certain viral variants have spread as risk areas. Special conditions apply for admission to these fields.

The regions of viral variants are currently Botswana, Brazil, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa and Uruguay. You can find the current list here.

high impact areas

In January, the federal government listed more than 20 states as high impact areas for the first time. This typically includes states with a weekly incidence of more than 200 per 100,000 population. Egypt, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Fiji, India, Iran, Colombia, Kuwait, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Oman, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, non-EU countries and regions with high incidence are classified as, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Tunisia and United Kingdom.

Strict entry rules apply to high incidence areas and viral variants.

(Stand: 09.07.2021)

Other articles on the coronavirus

In our news blog you will find a regularly updated overview of the most important developments. Read also:

+ Location: Number of infections in Germany (Stand 08.07.)

+ Holidays abroad: List of risk areas (Stand 09.07.)

+ Digital vaccination certificate: A glimpse of relief (Stand 03.07.)

+ Mutation: How dangerous is the delta version? (Get up: 05.07.)

+ Education: what’s next for schools in the fall? (Stand 21.06.)

You can also check out DLF news on Twitter here: @DLFNews.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.