Two NPFL players retained as Peseiro invites 27 for AFCON 2023 qualifiers

The NFF has released a 27-man squad for AFCON 2023 qualifiers

Super Eagles coach Jose Peseiro and the NFF have invited 27 players for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Sierra Leone and São Tomé and Príncipe.

Two of the eight NPFL players taken to the United States were able to make the roster with others not considered for matches.

The squad included three goalkeepers, including newly invited Israel-based keeper Adebayo Adeleye, Francis Uzoho and Akwa United’s Adewale Adeyinka.

In defence, Katsina United’s William Troost-Ekong, Semi Ajayi, Leon Balogun, Calvin Bassey, Zaidu Sanusi, Ola Aina, Kenneth Omeruo, Chidozie Awaziem, Abdullahi Shehu and Sani Faisal were on the list.

Midfield continued to be the thin department on the pitch with Alex Iwobi, Joe Aribo, Innocent Bonke, Frank Onyeka and Oghenekaro Etebo making the squad.

Onyeka hasn’t played since the March qualifier against Ghana while Etebo has barely had a few minutes since returning from injury.

Innocent Bonke was injured during the team’s tour of the United States.

The guest forwards are; Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Victor Osimhen, Ademola Lookman, Emmanuel Dennis, Cyriel Dessers, Terem Moffi and Sadiq Umar.

The Super Eagles will face Sierra Leone on June 9 before traveling to São Tomé and Príncipé on June 13.

Comments are closed.