US goes green, UK stays orange

France has updated its lists of traffic light travel restrictions, moving 23 other countries – including the US but not the UK – to green.

Other countries that have gone green are Seychelles, Egypt, Brazil, Bhutan and Tunisia. Almost all of Africa, Europe and the Americas are now at the lowest level of restrictions.

Green list destinations are categorized as: “Countries or territories with negligible or moderate virus circulation, [with no] emerging variants of concern.

Fully vaccinated people arriving in France from these countries need only present their vaccination card. Unvaccinated travelers over the age of 12 must present a PCR test result from the previous 72 hours or an antigen test result from the previous 48 hours, or proof of recovery from Covid from the last six months.

While much of the world is now listed as a green destination, the UK remains on the orange list where, according to the French Interior Ministry: “Active circulation of the virus is observed but at a controlled level, without emerging variants of concern”.

Also in orange are China, Mexico, Australia, Chile, Uruguay, Algeria, Mali, Turkey, Ukraine, Russia, Belarus and Serbia, among others.

Fully vaccinated people traveling to France from orange list countries only need to present proof of vaccination and a sworn statement confirming that they do not have symptoms of Covid and have not been in contact with a confirmed case in the last 14 days.

Unvaccinated persons over the age of 12 must also have a compelling reason to travel and present a PCR test result from the previous 72 hours or an antigen test result from the previous 48 hours to the travel operator. Recovery certificates are not listed as valid proof in this case.

Since February, there have been no countries on France’s red list for travel, although if the Covid situation worsens in some parts of the world, the government could apply an “emergency brake” and reintroduce red list restrictions, which include essential reasons for travel.

Read more: Time to end EU rules on Covid travel, say airlines and airports

Which countries are now on France’s green list?

All EU countries as well as Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and the Vatican are on France’s green list.

They join: Angola, Argentina, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Sudan, South Sudan, Taiwan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

You can find out more about the Covid travel rules in France on the Ministry of the Interior website.

Related Articles

Canada, South Africa and 27 other countries move to green list for travel to France

End of the vaccine pass in France: What changes for tourists and residents?

Faster ferries, new flight connections and six more France travel updates

Comments are closed.