Why is Afcon 2022 called Afcon 2021? – Tournament name explained

The 33rd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) will be held in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6, 2022.

The biennial competition was initially scheduled to take place between June and July 2021. However, the Confederation of African Football (Caf) postponed it to January and February due to unfavorable weather conditions in West and Central Africa at the time. proposed.

Why is it still called Afcon 2021?

After the success of the 2019 edition held in Egypt, in which Algeria beat Senegal 1-0 in the final to be crowned, the next edition was due to take place after two years – as usual. .

The road to Cameroon had started well with the preliminary round and two match days were played between October 9 and November 19, 2019. The playoffs were then postponed after the Covid-19 epidemic on the continent.

After a special session, Caf decided to postpone the competition to early 2022 after what they called “stakeholder consultations”, but the name was withheld.

On March 31, 2021, the Caf finally set January 9 to February 6, 2022 as the competition’s final date, exactly one year after its initially planned launch date.

Afcon Trophy.

What are the 24 qualified teams?

In addition to the hosts and reigning champions Algeria, Egypt, Senegal – who finished second in the 2019 edition, Ghana, Nigeria, Côte d’Ivoire, Tunisia, Mali and Morocco are among the 24 teams that come together. will compete for the trophy.

The other teams that complete the list are Burkina Faso, Guinea, Comoros, Gabon, Gambia, Equatorial Guinea, Zimbabwe, Sudan, Malawi, Ethiopia, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania, Cape Verde and Sierra Leone.

The teams will be divided into six groups with four teams each, and the first two will automatically seal their places in the knockout stage. The remaining four places will be occupied by the best third.

The first match should be played at the Olembe stadium in Yaoundé between the Indomitable Lions and Burkina Faso which will be followed by Ethiopia and Cape Verde.

Comments are closed.