Wildlife Photographer of the Year Announces Jury and Entry Fee Exemption


October 1, 2021

Wildlife Photographer of the Year announced his prestigious international jury and waived entry fees for 50 countries ahead of the 2022 open call for entries

The acclaimed Natural History Museum Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition has announced the international panel of experts who have the difficult task of selecting just 100 winning images in the 58th edition. For the first time, entry fees will be waived for 50 countries to further encourage entries from regions of the world currently under-represented in the annual competition.

Members of the jury

A panel of seven professionals will be gathered online by the Natural History Museum in February 2022 to select 100 of the most beautiful images of nature and wildlife. Each entry will be judged anonymously, and on its originality, narrative and ethical practice. The competition is open to photographers of all ages, nationalities and levels of experience.

Desert Relic by Jen Guyton, Germany / USA.  2018 winner, Plants and Mushrooms

Desert Relic by Jen Guyton, Germany / USA. 2018 winner, Plants and Mushrooms / Wildlife photographer of the year

From urban wildlife to animal portraits, from photojournalism to plants and mushrooms, the 19 categories cater for a wide range of interests and specialties. This year’s esteemed international jury is:

• Rosamund ‘Roz’ Kidman Cox OBE (United Kingdom), president of the jury, editor, photo editor and
writer (UK)
• Javier Aznar González de Rueda (Spain) wildlife photographer
• Dr Natalie Cooper (United Kingdom), researcher, Natural History Museum
• Sugandhi Gadadhar (India) animal director
• Jen Guyton (Germany / USA) photojournalist
• Anthony Ochieng Onyango (Kenya) conservation photographer and filmmaker
• Audun Rikardsen (Norway), nature photographer and biology teacher

Rosamund ‘Roz’ Kidman Cox OBE, president of the jury, said that ‘the wide variety of categories provides a gateway for anyone who focuses on nature and the environment. Whatever your photographic genre or creative style, if your images are fresh and original and have lasting power – images you can watch over and over again – we want to see them.

Dr Natalie Cooper, Natural History Museum researcher and jury member, said: “I want to see images that showcase the incredible diversity and beauty of life on Earth. I hope these images can inspire us to learn more about the world around us and encourage us to fight to preserve it. ‘

Splitting the Catch by Audun Rikardsen, Norway. 2016 Winner, Wildlife Photojournalism / Wildlife Photographer of the Year

The winning images will reach an audience of millions through the exhibition at the Natural History Museum in London which continues internationally, the museum’s digital platforms, global media coverage and an edited hardcover book. limited. The overall Grand Title winner and the young Grand Title winner will receive a substantial cash prize, and cash prizes have been reintroduced for the three category winners in the youth competition.

Registration fees waived for 50 countries

The 57th Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition received a record number of entries from 95 countries. To further encourage entries from around the world, the entry fee for the 58th edition will be waived for photographers who live in 50 selected countries.

The selection of countries is the result of several indicators that identify where the competition registration fees could be an economic barrier enter.

The countries are: Afghanistan, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Bee on Guard by Javier Aznar González de Rueda, Spain 2018 Winner, Wildlife Photographer Portfolio Award

Guard Bee by Javier Aznar González de Rueda, Spain. Winner 2018, Wildlife Photographer Portfolio Award / Wildlife Photographer of the Year

Soraia Salvador, Program Manager for Wildlife Photographer of the Year, said: “Wildlife Photographer of the Year is calling for entries from regions of the world currently under-represented in the competition. The new registration fee waiver is another step to encourage submissions from photographers in all 50 countries.

Talented photographers work around the world, documenting and celebrating the diversity of nature and it is important that this variety of perspectives, places and approaches is reflected in the winning entries and images.

The Wildlife Photographer of the Year is also particularly encouraging more entries from girls and women, and will be reaching out in the coming weeks to offer discounted entry to members of organizations that support diversity in wildlife photography.

For more details on the jury, contest rules, prizes and important dates, visit nhm.ac.uk/wpy

Wildlife Photographer of the Year is developed and produced by the Natural History Museum, London.

The 58th Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition open for registrations on Monday, October 18, 2021, closing at 11:30 am GMT on Thursday December 9, 2021.

Participants in the adult competition can enter up to 25 images for a fee of £ 30, which rises to £ 35 in the last week of the entry period, 11.30 a.m. GMT on December 2 at 11.30 a.m. GMT December 9. Entry fees are waived for the Adult Contest for Photographers who live in these
50 countries. Participants aged 17 and under can enter up to 10 images for free.

The rules and categories will be translated into 13 languages: Chinese, Japanese, Russian, French, Arabic, Finnish, German, Korean, Polish, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese.

The winners of the 57th Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition will be announced during a public and virtual ceremony on Tuesday, October 12, 2021.

Tickets are now on sale for the exhibition at the Natural History Museum in London, which will open to the public on October 15, 2021. Associate sponsors of the upcoming exhibition at the Natural History Museum are renewable energy company Ørsted and the brand of Seedlip alcohol-free spirits.

About the Wildlife Photographer of the Year:

Wildlife Photographer of the Year was founded in 1965 by BBC Wildlife Magazine, then called Animals. The Museum of Natural History joined forces in 1984 to create the competition as it is known today. The competition is now managed and owned by the Natural History Museum.

Further reading

Our top tips for wildlife photography

18 essential accessories for wildlife photography

Tips for low-light wildlife photography

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.