Wildlife photographer of the year announces prestigious international jury


The 57th Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition received a record number of entries from 95 countries. To further encourage entries from around the world, the entry fee for the 58th edition will be waived for photographers who live in 50 selected countries.

The selection of countries is the result of several indicators that identify places where the competition registration fee could be an economic barrier to entry. The countries are:

Afghanistan, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Lesotho , Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Soraia Salvador, Head of Wildlife Photographer of the Year Programming, said: “Wildlife Photographer of the Year is calling for entries from regions of the world currently under-represented in the competition. The new registration fee waiver is another step to encourage submissions from photographers in all 50 countries. Talented photographers work around the world, documenting and celebrating the diversity of nature and it is important that this variety of perspectives, places and approaches is reflected in the winning entries and images. The Wildlife Photographer of the Year is also particularly encouraging more entries from girls and women, and will be reaching out in the coming weeks to offer discounted entry to members of organizations that support diversity in wildlife photography.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.